It was an exciting afternoon on October 6, 2017, in conjunction with the Joint Annual Convention of the CTMRI Society of the Philippines and Ultrasound Society of the Philippines as we witnessed many eager radiologists entering the Roma Room at The Manila Hotel to attend the organizational meeting of the Skeletal Radiology Society of the Philippines.

Dr. Eugene Dy spearheaded the meeting and introduced the musculoskeletal imaging interest group under the SEC-registered name of Skeletal Radiology Society of the Philippines and reiterated that this is the only permanent aspect of the society at the moment, the SEC-registered name. Other features of the society, including its’ membership and constitution are subject to discussion. The society aims to provide the best resource for musculoskeletal imaging in the country.

The attendees, which included none other than the President of the Philippine College of Radiology, Dr. Gerome Gaerlan, were eager to ask questions.

We also took the opportunity to have a photo-op with Dr. Dy.

Membership forms were distributed during this initial meeting where there was a request of nomination for the board of trustees.  The submitted names were invited to a meeting on November 29,2017 for the formal organization of the Board for the MSK interest group.

On November 29, 2017, the following radiologists were voted as officers and members of the board of trustees of the Skeletal Radiology Society of the Philippines: President – Dr. Eugene C. Dy, Vice-President – Dr. Rafael S. Joson, Secretary – Dr. Melodia B. Geslani, Treasurer – Dr. Romelito Jose G. Galsim, P.R.O. – Dr. Al Joannes G. Del Mindo, Members – Dr. Rodney L. Fernan and Dr. Paul E. Perez. The Chairman of the Committee on Membership is Dr. Ma. Imogene Lalaine V. Cabero.   Senior radiologist Cesar S. Co was invited in the meeting as adviser.

Please keep abreast of the announcements of the Skeletal Radiology Society of the Philippines in the Filipino Radiologist or Philippine College of Radiology sites and see you all in the future activities of the MSK interest group.

Melodia B. Geslani, MD, FPCR
Secretary, SRSP

Organizational meeting of the Skeletal Radiology Society of the Philippine

Leave a Reply